City invites submissions for 2013 Book Award

Image - BookAward-290x160Authors and publishers of books that contribute to the appreciation and understanding of Vancouver’s history, unique character or the achievements of its residents are invited to submit entries for the 25th annual City of Vancouver Book Award.

The winning book can be of any genre and will demonstrate excellence in content, illustration, design, and/or format. To be eligible, books must be published in 2012 or 2013 and meet the application criteria.

An independent panel of judges will choose the winner of the 2013 City of Vancouver Book Award and the $2,000 prize. The award will be presented in the fall by Mayor Gregor Robertson at the Mayor’s Arts Awards.

2013 Submission Information

All entries must include: four copies of the book, a $20 submission fee, and a completed entry form. Entry forms and guidelines are available from the Cultural Services Department at the Woodward’s Heritage Building, 111 West Hastings Street, Suite 501, or on the City’s website at

The deadline for entries is Wednesday, May 15, 2013.

2012 Winners

Recent past winners include: W.H. New for YVR, Michael Christie for The Beggar’s Garden; Bruce Grenville and Scott Steedman for Visions of British Columbia; and Lee Henderson for The Man Game.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s